skip navigation

Looking Back: 2012 All-American Prospects Game

By, 09/11/17, 9:35AM EDT


2017 AAPG Details

The Just of It: Team McClanahan topped Team Housley, 5-2, in the inaugural CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game at First Niagara Center in Buffalo, New York, on September 29, 2012.

Celebrity Coaches: Phil Housley (St. Paul, Minn.), a 2004 inductee into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, and Rob McClanahan (St. Paul, Minn.), a gold-medalist with the 1980 U.S. Men’s Ice Hockey Team, served as the head coaches for the first CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game. Housley would go on to lead the 2013 U.S. National Junior Team to a gold medal at the 2013 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship that upcoming December and January. 

Most Valuable Player: Team McClanahan’s Ryan Fitzgerald (North Reading, Mass.) dished out three assists to earn MVP honors.

Game Details

Team Housley

Team McClanahan

Jones Delivers: Defenseman Seth Jones (Plano, Texas), who entered the game as the highest-regarded American prospect, found the back of the net for Team McClanahan with a one-timer at 6:06 of the second period. Jones would then lead Team USA to a gold medal at the 2013 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship before being drafted fourth overall by the Nashville Predators at the 2013 NHL Draft. 

Jones finds the back of the net for Team McClanahan in the second stanza

First Prospects Game Goal: The first of Fitzgerald’s three helpers came at 15:54 of the first period, when he fed the puck to Hudson Fasching (Apple Valley, Minn.), who tapped-in the first goal in CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game history.



Fitzgerald and Fasching connect for a first-period goal

Behind The Scenes: The Buffalo Sabres hosted a reception at the arena the night prior to the game, which culminated in a tour of the Sabres’ locker room and facilities.  




Have Made NHL Debut:

Hudson Fasching (Buffalo Sabres)

Ryan Hartman (Chicago Blackhawks)

Seth Jones (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Sean Malone (Buffalo Sabres)

Mike McCarron (Montreal Canadiens)

Tyler Motte (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Steve Santini (New Jersey Devils)

Frank Vatrano (Boston Bruins)

(current team in parenthesis) 

Notable Honors Since The AAPG:

2017 NHL All-Star - Seth Jones (Plano, Texas)

2017 Hobey Baker Memorial Award Winner - Will Butcher (Sun Prairie, Wis.)

2017 NCAA Hockey National Championship (Denver) - Will Butcher, captain (Sun Prairie, Wis.), Evan Cowley (Arvada, Colo.)

2016 NCAA Hockey National Championship (North Dakota)Gage Ausmus, captain (East Grand Forks, Minn.), Luke Johnson (Grand Forks, N.D.) and Keaton Thompson (Devils Lake, N.D.)

2015 IIHF Men’s World Championship (Bronze)Seth Jones (Plano, Texas)

2013 IIHF Men's Under-18 World Championship (Silver) - Evan Allen (Sterling Heights, Mich.), Gage Ausmus (East Grand Forks, Mich.), Will Butcher (Sun Prairie, Wis.), J.T. Compher (Northbrook, Ill.), Hudson Fasching (Burnsville, Minn.), Tyler Kelleher (Longmeadow, Mass.), Clint Lewis (Burnsville, Minn.), Anthony Louis (Winfield, Ill.), Sean Malone (West Seneca, N.Y.), Michael McCarron (Macomb, Mich.), Hunter Miska (North Branch, Minn.), Tyler Motte (St. Clair, Mich.), Steve Santini, Media All-Star Team (Mahopac, N.Y.) and Keaton Thompson (Devils Lake, N.D.)

2013 IIHF World Junior Championship (Gold) - Ryan Hartman (West Dundee, Ill.), Phil Housley, head coach (South St. Paul, Minn.) and Seth Jones (Plano, Texas)

2012 AAPG Draft Class

2012 AAPG Photos

Popular Articles & Features

Mike Garman represented the Chicago Steel and Nick Oliver the Fargo Force

BioSteel All-American Game Bringing Together USHL Players

By Becky Olsen 01/16/2023, 1:00pm EST

USA Hockey Arena will host nearly 200 scouts as 45 draft-eligible prospects compete on Monday night

The Team Blue and Team White goalies talk during warmups of the BioSteel All-American Game.

Rosters Announced for 2023 BioSteel All-American Game

By USA Hockey 12/28/2022, 4:45pm EST

Top American prospects for NHL Draft set to compete on Jan. 16