skip navigation

Looking Back: 2016 All-American Prospects Game

By, 09/20/17, 8:15AM EDT


Team LeClair bested Team Howe, 6-4, in 5th Annual AAPG

2017 AAPG Details

The Just of It: Team LeClair defeated Team Howe, 6-4, in the fifth annual CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game on September 22, 2016, at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia.

Celebrity Coaches: Mark Howe and John LeClair, both members of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame and former Philadelphia Flyers, served as head coaches for the contest. Combined, Howe, a 2003 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, and LeClair, a member of the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2009, represented the United States on seven occasions, including one Canada Cup, two International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championships, one World Cup of Hockey, and three Olympic Winter Games.

Game Details

Team Howe

2016 AAPG Draft Class

Team LeClair

Most Valuable Player: Casey Mittelstadt (Eden Prairie, Minn.) netted two goals for Team Howe to earn Player of the Game honors.  The performance jumpstarted Mittelstadt’s draft year, which culminated with his selection eighth overall by the Buffalo Sabres in the 2017 NHL Draft as the first American off the board.

Draft Picks: 24 players that competed in the game went on to be selected in the 2017 NHL Draft, including five first-round picks. Kailer Yamamoto (Spokane, Wash.), who went 22nd overall to Edmonton, picked up on assist on both of Mittelstadt’s markers.

Yamamoto & Mittelstadt connect for a goal

Make It Six for LeClair: The six goals scored by Team LeClair matched a CCM/USA Hockey All-American Prospects Game record for the most goals scored by a team (2015 – Team Plante; 2014 – Team Grier). Brannon McManus (Newport Beach, Calif.) led Team LeClair with three points (1-2) and notched the sixth goal for his side with less than three minutes to play.

McManus makes it six goals for Team LeClair

Mark Howe – Postgame Quote

“I was really encouraged by ability, talent and drive of all these kids. They have great character and it was a real pleasure to coach them. It was a great honor to be asked to coach and be a part of such a special event.”

John LeClair – Postgame Quote

“The kids had a lot of energy, and it was fun to be around them. They played hard and it was a fun game to be a part of. The skill level and the speed was extremely high. They’re talented players and they all played well.”

Notable Honors Since The AAPG:

2017 IIHF Under-18 Men’s World Championship (Gold)Evan Barratt (Bristol, Pa.), Logan Cockerill (Brighton, Mich.), Sean Dhooghe, Media All-Star Team (Aurora, Ill.), David Farrance (Victor, N.Y.), Max Gildon , Media All-Star Team (Plano, Texas), Tyler Inamoto (Barrington, Ill.), Phil Kemp, captain (Greenwich, Conn.), Nate Knoepke (Farmington, Mich.), Tommy Miller (West Bloomfield, Mich.), Grant Mismash (Edina, Minn.), Josh Norris, alternate captain (Oxford, Mich.), Ryan Poehling (Lakeville, Minn.), Cayden Primeau (Voorhees, N.J.), Scott Reedy (Prior Lake, Minn.) and Jacob Tortora (Victor, N.Y.)

Game Highlights

2016 AAPG Photos

Popular Articles & Features

Officials Named; 1960 and 1972 Olympians To Take Part in Pre- and Post-Game Ceremonies

Damien Carfagna nets overtime winner; Rutger McGroarty earns Player of the Game honors

Q&A With Scott Gomez

By Tom Robinson 01/19/2020, 3:45pm EST

Gomez and counterpart Mike Knuble will coach game showcasing NHL draft prospects